Flight Delays & Portuguese BBQ

Yessir, that title means I’m not in Denver anymore!  Just out on vacation, and thought I would have a little fun in varying the posts here…

So I was on my way to Italy (Milan) and got lucky enough to bump on a flight that was oversold.  Airlines being what they are these days they over-sell to be sure the flights are full.  Luckier for people like me who are flexible, I asked if they were over-sold and offered to get my name on the list.  Sure enough, they called and I got a hotel for the night, vouchers for meals (not a lot but hey!), and a travel voucher worth a good enough amount for me to delay my trip a day.  So, I was “stuck” in Newark for the night.

On the runway at Newark Airport, overlooking the Manhattan skyline. ~ photo by Debbie Sarcone

This, for me, was not a problem.  I have family and friends in NJ and made the most of it: got to have dinner with a sister and niece, and next day was spent with one of my closest friends.  We went to “little Portugal” – best known as Ferry St. in Newark.

Ferry Street, aka Portugal Avenue ~ photo by Debbie Sarcone

The smells on this street are to die for!  Bakeries, barbecues, restaurants filling the air with meat and garlic and….YUM!  So we ducked into a little place called…Ferry St. BBQ.  It was awesome – all the meats on an open pit in the kitchen, grilling away at least 2 dozen birds (chicken) and ribs.  My friend and I orderd a half platter of the combo, chicken and ribs, with saffron rice and french fries.  This platter came to the table with enough to feed a small army!  And it was delicious.  No bbq sauce, no “rub”; just plain, old-fashioned salt, pepper, garlic, and probably some olive oil.  We were stuffed.

Ferry St BBQ, Newark’s Little Portugal ~ photo by Debbie Sarcone

It was enough that we needed to take a walk for a bit before dessert – yes, I was not leaving little Portugal without dessert!  We found a bakery that sold pastries, and I bought an apple turnover and my friend a custard/almond cup.  If you are ever stuck in Newark don’t be afraid to venture out to Ferry Street – you’ll be very glad you did!  Ferry St BBQ doesn’t have its own website, but check out the reviews from Yelp HERE.  Your mouth will be watering by the time you’ve read the first one!

Next adventure – Milano!

This entry was posted in Food, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

